Aave Guardians


The Aave Community Guardian is a group of community-elected individuals or entities who are part of a 6/10 multisig that have certain roles as delegated by the Aave community. Information about the vote for the Guardian can be found here.

The Aave Guardian multisig holds the authority to:

  • Protect the Aave Protocol against potential governance takeovers by having the ability to “veto” a payload if it is deemed malicious.

  • Execute upgrades on V3 markets where cross-chain governance bridge is not active (currently only Fantom and Harmony), following governance votes on Snapshot.

  • Failsafe emergency actor to pause Aave markets.

  • Failsafe emergency actor for cross-chain messaging in Emergency Mode.

Current Community Guardians

  • Ernesto Boado (BGD Labs)

  • Matthew Graham (Governance House)

  • Fernando Martinelli (Balancer Labs)

  • Coderdan (Aavegotchi)

  • Corbin Page (ConsenSys Codefi, Aave Grants DAO)

  • Gavi Galloway (Standard Crypto)

  • Meltem Demirors (Coinshares)

  • Marc Zeller (Aave-Chan Initiative)

  • Hilmar Maximilian Orth (Gelato)

  • 0xmaki

Governance Discussions

Initial Guardians for the launch of Governance V2 (September 20th 2020)

Guardian Renewal (September 21st 2021)

Guardian Renewal (August 3rd 2022)

Governance vote granting Guardians EmergencyAdmin role

Sync Aave V2 AMM Market Emergency Admin with Eth Mainnet Guardian

Last updated